Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Swim & Dive Sweep SCAC Team Sportsmanship Awards

Swim & Dive Sweep SCAC Team Sportsmanship Awards

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. - Four Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference programs were recognized by the league as the 2018-19 Winter Sportsmanship Teams in their respective sports.

The SCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee instituted the award prior to the 2016-17 academic year in an effort to honor the team that best portrays good sportsmanship and fair play from the players and coaches during the season. The winter awards are presented in men's and women's basketball and men's and women's swimming and diving.

In swimming and diving, Southwestern University swept the team sportsmanship honors on both the men's and women's side for the second consecutive year. The Pirate men were the top choice with Colorado College finishing a close second and Austin College and McMurry University tying for third. For the women, Southwestern earned top honors followed by Colorado College in second place. Austin College was third in the balloting.

In men's basketball, Colorado College took top sportsmanship honor for the second consecutive year, followed by Trinity University in second and Johnson & Wales University Denver in third.

In women's basketball, Colorado College completed the hoops sweep for the institution, earning its third SAAC team sportsmanship award in four years. Austin College was second in the balloting and Texas Lutheran University was third.

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference 2019-20 Winter Team Sportsmanship Award
Men's Basketball: Colorado College
Women's Basketball: Colorado College
Men's Swimming & Diving: Southwestern University
Women's Swimming & Diving: Southwestern University

The awards were voted on by each member institution coach and/or SAAC representative, with each individual group ranking the top three teams in each sport. The first place selections were awarded five points, second place earned three points and third place earned one point. Points were then totaled to select the conference's overall winner.