GEORGETOWN, Texas - In all-campus voting, seniors Reese Cisneros and Todd Boone have been selected as the 2010 female and male Pirate Anchor Award winners.

Cisneros, a senior defensive specialist from Pearland, Texas, is majoring in Communication Studies at Southwestern. She is a four year member of the highly successful volleyball team and was named to the SCAC All-Tournament team in 2008. Cisnoros is a three-time All-Academic Honor Roll selection and was the Character & Community Student of the Week in 2009.

Performing on the court and in the classroom is not where Cisneros' skills stop. She has been actively involved in numerous organizations, volunteering her time through Zeta Tau Alpha as the Social Chair, is on the Student Foundation Planning Committee, FEllowship of Christian Athletes Leadership Committee, Student Athlete Advisory Committee, Operation Achievement Mentor, photographer for the student newspaper, The Megaphone, and Pearland Community Center. Her extensive volunteer experience led to internships wtih Kennedy Creative and Wild Poppy Florist in event planning and is also a writing intern for University Relations at Southwestern.

Boone, a centerfielder from Huntsville, Texas, is majoring in Business at Southwestern. He has been a four year started for the Pirate baseball program and has hit in the leadoff position during that time. He has volunteered as a tutor for the Huntsville Independent School District as well as the Rita B. Huff Animal Shelter, Relay for Life Cancer Walk and the Good Sheppard Mission. On campus Boone is a member of the Phi Delta Theta Fraternity, Student Athletic Advisory Committee and was Captain of the Leadership Council for four years.

Other finalists for the 2010 Pirate Anchor Award were Alex Keller (soccer), Daniel Rudd (cross country/track), Jessica Herbst (basketball), and Tami Warner (cross country/track).

The Anchor award is presented annually by the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC) to the male and female athlete who best display a number of traits that embody the spirit and character of the SU community. The winners are voted on by any members of the Southwestern student body, faculty and staff.